Hello, Again

I took off the summer from writing. This wasn’t planned. Life circumstances made it impossible for me to take to my keyboard and honestly type my thoughts. Partially, because I was dealing with a lot of personal and family issues, things that either are not my story to tell or were too fresh for me to even consider discussing publicly. Around this time, I had nearly my entire family in town. This was a good distraction at moments, a stressor at others. I was happy to have my niece and nephew stay with us in July. I tried my best to entertain and keep up with four kids from age 10 to 13.

I promised myself I would get back to writing in August. I’ve started drafting some things, and let me tell you, pouring my thoughts and feelings out has felt great. So, I’m picking up where I left off: writing about whatever the heck I want. Sometimes silly and random, often times political and personal.

I have attempted to put something together regarding Ferguson. Despite thousands of thoughts swarming in my mind, the words don’t come. Well, they come, just not always coherently. My Twitter feed is indicative of this. I have more retweets this past week than perhaps ever before. I will try harder. I will use my voice to talk about Mike Brown. I realize it’s not too late to speak up for Eric Garner. Or Ramarley Graham. Or Sean Bell. Or Oscar Grant. Or sadly, the names that will be added to this crisis. So I will keep doing my thing.

I saw a few months ago, how my words could be amplified and how they could make an impact. It happened with my piece on the Judge Rotenberg Center, expressing my support for Shanesha Taylor, issues surrounding Autism Speaks and Jenny McCarthy, and even comic books! I saw how people from all over were engaging, sharing, and discussing my pieces and the topics I was talking about. I need to not lose sight of that. Thank you for reading my words, opening up discussions, and supporting me. I always say, if one person is effected by what I write, it is all worth it. So here I go…

sunrise

