#MicroblogMondays: I Love New York Except…

NYCnov14 (2)I love New York except when the rent is too damn high and continues to soar and there’s no way I’ll ever be able to afford to live there.

I love New York except when the MTA continues to raise its fares and traveling across a borough with my kids becomes too expensive.

I love New York except when the practices of law enforcement are racist and biased, their actions continue to do harm to those they are being paid to protect, and the NYPD has yet to build any trust within the communities they are supposed to be serving.

I love New York except when I’m tired and cold and sore and stressed out and have a million worries on my mind (like Saturday when I took this picture).

New York, I love you, but…


Thanks, as always, to Stirrup Queens for always giving me a reason to post something on Mondays!

One comment

  1. I never saw the Kermit version of that song!

    I have to admit that I’m on the other end of the spectrum. I don’t have a lot of love for New York. I endure New York. I’m happiest when I’m leaving the city. I wish I could love it because the space means so much to other people I love, but it always makes me feel grey.

Comments are closed.